Come on now | Reviewer: Anonymous | 9/23/08

Really people, Iron Maiden wrote all kinds of crazy songs about all kinds of things; most metal bands are not really "satanic" in the classical or Lavey sense, and Maiden has always used such imagery to reflect the darkness and insanity implied by their music. They were one of the original "devil music" bands, and still one of the best - that doesn't mean they worship any devils or demons. Last I checked, super-satanic band Slayer's vocalist Tom Araya is Catholic. Music is art, and you won't find many bands outside the black-metal scene who actually believe in the literal meanings of their demonic lyrics; the lyrics are written to fit the music, and maybe scare people stupid enough to believe that the bands actually engage that kind of thing. Back when this came out, lyrics like this, and the protests and publicity that came about because of them, helped sell millions of records for not just Maiden, but also for metal founders Black Sabbath as well as pop bands like Motley Crue and W.A.S.P. Come on now, are we still burning records?

Revelations this world | Reviewer: Erwin | 8/20/08

Nice to see that people all over the world still makes a fuzz about the lyrice and the song. This was also like in the 80's, at that time they crushed and burned the album!
Great to see that the discussion is still alive.
If you wanna know what's the band upinion about the devil worship thing. Listen to the song on piece of mind...revelations!

Number of the beast!!!!!! | Reviewer: Sloppy_fiend | 8/20/08

First..the begining is in fact from the book of revelation, but it is not one verse it is two verses. "Woe to you of earth and sea..." Revelation 12:12, "Let him who hath..." Revelation 13:18

Secondly, music and religion has more in common than anyone would like to admit. I cannot tell you why this song was written, I a=can try to infer meaning from it, and I actually thing it is more of a representation of the evils of the world. Succumbing to lust and greed and gluttony. Sort of a warning against the pull of the evil that is represented by satan and the chanting hordes as it were. I could get into the meaning of the bible verses and what "earth and sea" actually, in my opinion, means, but just like the song it is open to interpretation. The one thing I can safley say if you want to label this song as satanic, then you are either very small minded, or just have an axe to grind.

Inform the Lord? | Reviewer: Damaramu | 8/19/08

Seriously, that cracks me up. How does one inform the Lord? Call him up on the phone?

"Uh, hello Lord? Yeah, this is Frank. I thought you might like to know that I saw some guys out in the woods...what? You knew already? Ah, never mind then. Yeah you too. Have a good one."

Sounds like a bad Bob Newhart skit.

^^ SATANIC LOL | Reviewer: joka | 8/14/08

for all the scummbags who think this song is satanic are idiots who cant read or listen to the meanings of this song.at first place.the intro Woe to You Oh Earth and Sea
for the Devil sends the beast with wrath.. and so on is from the bible and the later text is just his version of this lil text in the bible in other words he just tell the story whit diferent words.god safe the fools who think this is satanic.if this is satanic than the bible is also satanic couse this is the text from the bible.....

i like the scale | Reviewer: me | 7/16/08

why, if people have this incredible music, still listen at garbage...i said, rap and reggaeton? i dont get it...

im still learnin english, and songs like this are perfect for practice the right pronunciation of each world, no matter if talks about the devil (i think people who feel ofended about this are still in the midage)

thats all

satanic!!!!! not. | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/14/08

dude...i dont get why people find this offensive. Im a christian, raised as a christian, go to church every sunday. These bands are soooo prejudiced...they are called satanic because of the title. christians dont bother listening to the song...
This is an amazing song...the lyrics are like art...they are deeper than what they seem...this is not about satan worship.



omg | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/11/08

im catholic and if you are offended by this song than get fucked it is about the book of revelations (the second coming of christ)it is also about a nightmare because of the omen so fuck you if you think its offencive

up the irons | Reviewer: Anonymous | 7/4/08

alright - personally i dont think this is about worshipping satan..at all - and even if it was, would you worship satan jus because you heard it on a ( great ) song? NO, im a christian myself and i dont like much or any of our worship music, my favorite bands are maiden, metalica, and zeppelin. just because you hear it on a song doesnt mean you have to do it haha.

It is not satanic | Reviewer: Catholic | 5/26/08

What Iron Maiden is talking about is how people are easily tempted by evil. The guy in the beginning of the song is a good guy. However the allure of Satan is something he can't resist. It is a warning to people that anyone can succumb to the false promises of the Devil

don't bother | Reviewer: haedim | 5/20/08

as a christian i don't think that a religious person should never listen to this song. it's just about steve harris' dream. he saw a nightmare after watching the movie Omen (for which the Catholic Church gave thumbs up).

i think the only song that you shouldn't listen to if you are a christian is moonchild because it's very similar to a crowley's ritual. to find out more about this i'd suggest you to read the maiden commentary site (http://maidenfans.com/imc)

I am Catholic | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/31/08

He, just wanted to say that everyone should focus on the fact that this song is fucking awesome, it doesnt matter if it has religion in it or not. If you're truly a christian you shouldnt even be affected in any way whatsoever by this song. Everyone should agree that this is one of the best songs of the band.
BTW the real lyrics are ''This can't go on I must inform the law'' just so you know.

Up the Irons.

the greatest speach | Reviewer: chase | 3/30/08

Woe to You Oh Earth and Sea
for the Devil sends the beast with wrath
because he knows the time is short
Let him who hath understanding
reckon the number of the beast
for it is a human number
its number is six hundred and sixty six.

Those are last words my uncle ever said as he died in the hospital he was my hero and cherrish these words and they run through my head all the time r.i.p. see u with sattan

Shed Some Truth | Reviewer: VanBarbee | 3/29/08

The Number of the Beast was written about a bad dream that, I believe Steve Harris, had. It is about the character running into a satanic ritual and being discovered. He is killed by the ritual holders, and tells of his return to reek vengence. OR at least the last part is what I get out of it. If you ask me, it's the story of Edward the Great (or Eddie the Head informally) and how he came to be a...well, whatever he happens to be in the album lol

This song is not about praising Satan, please drop it, blah blah blah...it's been said enough. I mean bloody hell it says the number of the BEAST...doesn't it...

Not satanic | Reviewer: dude | 3/27/08

like many people have said before me this song isnt satanic why else would he say i must inform the lord not law listen to the song WTFF. just because it mentions him doesnt mean they want you to glorify him, it doesnt even say that anywere in the song.