Reviews for Thoughts of a Dying Atheist Lyrics

Performed by Muse

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 9/ 16
Add Your New Review About The Song

...anyone forget to talk about the song? | Reviewer: anonymous | 7/29/08

oh come on people give it up. there are too many opinions in this world to settle on just one, so stop trying..
anyway, back to the point of even posting this, the song is an amazing song and muse is an amazing band. period.

@ Paul | Reviewer: kei | 7/26/08

Please, don't try to convince people to believe or disbelieve in a god. It's like advertising for a product, like shampoo. I'm an atheist and I feel no gap, so a god would have nothing to fill, thus negating your point.

It's unknowable | Reviewer: Hmm | 7/22/08

Belief in God isn't necessarily about whether it is scientifically possible or not for one to exist.

Science is just as subjective as religion in many, many cases..especially once you begin to study quantum theory.

It's a personal realization that one will come to...whether they decide that there is or is not a God. For those of you that love throwing Bible verses around, that's not going to convert anyone...it in fact just pushes people away.

I myself believe in God...but it's not about whether anything is scientifically probable...it's more about what will give me the greatest meaning in my life, and about what will help guide me to be a better person.

Also...it's not all about Christianity..other religions are just as valid in that they perhaps simply show us other ways of experiencing a higher power, or something infinite.

This song brings about questions of whether the atheist's search for truth (or doubt..however you see it) is really worth it in the face of the lack of comfort they might face as they head towards death.


In short..we won't ever know whether there is or is not a God in our lifetime...obviously. We can theorize and change our minds... but perhaps, in the end, it's about what will guide us, what will comfort us, and what will give us meaning.

Atheist thoughts :P | Reviewer: Nemesis | 7/15/08

Well ppl, what can i say !

I'm an Atheist.
I dont belive in god and mny ppl has told me that i'm hella wrong, that i'm crazy (btw,i'm a little bit :D ) and other stuffs. Still I do not care. I have seen to much stuffs on this world,and i cant imagine that there's a mighty powerful god over our heads, watching it all and letting us do this kind of fool things, trust me, it is even more stupid than we going to mars some day, not far away, for me.

I belive that if an atheist dies...in such case, if i die, a'right, i may not go to anywhere...i'll be dust and i no longer exist. not here, nor HEAVEN neither. so what !??

I prefer to live with the truth ( for me, the truth is "there's not a god on this world, we all created a massive energy thing that somehow makes us be one and help eachother ) than die with false hopes of a better place.




response to Mutual Friend | Reviewer: Goose | 5/29/08

If an atheist and a so-called righteous person die, just like all animals, they expire. Nothing more. It amazes me that normally sensible people can so readily throw out logic and jump on board with mythical stories and impossibilities and not even think twice.

and if the so-called righteous people that perpetrated the Crusades or bomb marketplaces in Israel or flew planes into the Trade Center fill up heaven, I'll gladly take my 9 to 5 and the dirt nap that follows

Thoughts of a living atheist | Reviewer: A Mutual Friend | 5/26/08

Dying scares the hell out of me sometimes. But I also have great respect for death too. There are few things as beautiful as death.

On the flip side I think that the prospect of living forever is much scarier, so I do not think that we should fear death quite so much.

If Atheist die then they are dead. No cognizance, no care, no existing. Pretty pointless to fear not existing don't you think?

If [a righteous] person of religious faith dies then they go to heaven. Sounds better than the 9-5 desk job on earth.
---
I don't particularly see the point in going crazy over who is right and who is wrong. I see no sense in arguing over where we came from. We are born, we do a lot of living, we die. Fascinating.

I think we should focus on our time here on earth. Instead of concentrating on where we came from, I like trying to get in touch with one another.

Peace and hope forever,
A mutual friend

REVIEW | Reviewer: paul | 5/20/08

some of u guys are just lost...maybe if ppl read the Bible more you'd understand that its not neccasry (however u spell that word...) to "know" everything about God. You cant. If a human mind cant comprehend eternity, then why try to understand the creator of time? Ppl please see that its not possible to prove or disprove God. Christ has to come into an individuals heart and open their eyes only in that situation one can actually understand that there is a Jesus and he was God in human form. Untill Christs comes into your heart. Your life is vanity. And knowing these little petty details of what God "can or cant do" is pathetic attempt to disprove His existence using ur short sighted mind (compared to Gods ofcourse) If the kind of proof you search for existed...then 'believing' would exist. If you dont believe me, then dont. But answer this...Why does nothing in this world satisfy that inner emptiness? If you say something does, your a liar. We're created this way. So nothing but God, would fill that void :)

suprise suprise | Reviewer: paul | 5/20/08

some of u guys are just lost...maybe if ppl read the Bible more you'd understand that its not neccasry (however u spell that word...) to "know" everything about God. You cant. If a human mind cant comprehend eternity, then why try to understand the creator of time? Ppl please see that its not possible to prove or disprove God. Christ has to come into an individuals heart and open their eyes only in that situation one can actually understand that there is a Jesus and he was God in human form. Untill Christs comes into your heart. Your life is vanity. And knowing these little petty details of what God "can or cant do" is pathetic attempt to disprove His existence using ur short sighted mind (compared to Gods ofcourse) If the kind of proof you search for existed...then 'believing' would exist. If you dont believe me, then dont. But answer this...Why does nothing in this world satisfy that inner emptiness? If you say something does, your a liar. We're created this way. So nothing but God, would fill that void :)

to "me again" and everyone else | Reviewer: Frank | 4/27/08

your talking about humanly possible.. I'm talking theoretically possible. Jesus can turn water into wine, that doesnt contradict that he isn't so powerful. making a two sided-triangle or making a rock so heavy you can't lift is just stringing words together. But if you do believe in God, you would agree taht there is much more mystery to what he can do...

Me again | Reviewer: Anonymous | 4/10/08

i had a look at that site and it said that god can only do what is possible. THEN WHY THE HELL IS GOD SO POWERFUL.

And in that case what the site said contradicted most of the bible because it's not possible to turn water into wine and jesus apparently did that, so why can't he do anything thats impossible (although i do see your point in them being just words because thats what i said to the other guy)

God lifting a rock | Reviewer: Frank | 4/1/08

alright everyone, settle, I have an answer for you. you can find it on a link at the end of my post, but the next paragraph will summarize it for you.

"the Bible itself lists things God cannot do - like lie or deny Himself (Hebrews 6:18; 2 Timothy 2:13; Titus 1:2). The reason He cannot do these things is because of His nature and the nature of reality itself. God cannot do what is not actually possible to be done, like creating a two-sided triangle, or a married bachelor. Just because words can be strung together this way does not make the impossible possible - these things are contradictions, they are truly impossible in reality. Now, what about this rock? A rock would have to be infinitely large to defeat an infinite amount of lifting power. But an infinite rock is a contradiction since material objects cannot be infinite. Only God is infinite. There cannot be two infinites. So the question is actually asking if God can make a contradiction - which He cannot."

http://www.gotquestions.org/God-rock-heavy-lift.html

my opinion | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/29/08

whoever said atheist are just afraid to die, so they deny god is an idiot. most religions are created for that exact purpose, atheist is the belief in nothing but science and mysteries of everything. (my opinion) I think it's pretty obvious that religion is made for an after death for people who are scared to die.

I'm scared to die but at the same time, after i die, my brain will rot into the ground and the closes thing left would be memories of the living.

And that thing about the rock, who cares what "definition" is it's just the theory that if god exists there is many paradoxes. Taaniel had a much better answer (although it doesn't really answer it)

i wish i was religious cause then i would just be able to pretend everything is there for a reason.

religion also holds up society like a law

with respect to religion.

the large boulder... | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/25/08

A boulder large enough to be impossible for an infinite God to lift would need to be infinite as well.

However, a boulder by definition is finite.

If it's shoddy reasoning like this that keeps people from the truth, then I'm kinda scared.


to socrates | Reviewer: Taaniel | 3/16/08

Socrates u said that if God is almighty then could He make a boulder so big that he couldn't lift it, he already made one, the answer is you. He cant make u do something u don't want to, because God gave us free will.

Irrational | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/9/08

"omg. i think of it this way.... why don't people just say they have nothing to lose? i mean, if you decide to be a christian, i mean you get saved or you die like you were inn the first place. you're stupid if you think it's just an excuse."

Obviously, to start, all theists are deluded. This seems like a very close resemblance to Pascal's wager. The absurd thing about it, is that it does not take into consideration the hundreds of millions of other god's that have been believed in by many people. If you were to see an illusionist do an absolutely brilliant trick, that no one could describe how it was done, would you attribute magic to it? No, ur reason tells you that obviously there is a very disappointing solution to it, but you just don't have the ability to think of it.

To the actual poem, I think it is every theist's dream, that an atheist would be afraid of death, but it is not so. 'Tis actually the theist's fear of death that will make them irrationaly respond with the belief in a God. For instead of facing the reality of death, they would rather believe in a fanciful little afterlife. Just remember, with the debate of a god, there is not just the Christian God or no God. Any theist has a 0.000000000000000000009% chance of being correct


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 9/ 16