Reviews for Thoughts of a Dying Atheist Lyrics

Performed by Muse

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 10/ 16
Add Your New Review About The Song

Irrational | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/9/08

"omg. i think of it this way.... why don't people just say they have nothing to lose? i mean, if you decide to be a christian, i mean you get saved or you die like you were inn the first place. you're stupid if you think it's just an excuse."

Obviously, to start, all theists are deluded. This seems like a very close resemblance to Pascal's wager. The absurd thing about it, is that it does not take into consideration the hundreds of millions of other god's that have been believed in by many people. If you were to see an illusionist do an absolutely brilliant trick, that no one could describe how it was done, would you attribute magic to it? No, ur reason tells you that obviously there is a very disappointing solution to it, but you just don't have the ability to think of it.

To the actual poem, I think it is every theist's dream, that an atheist would be afraid of death, but it is not so. 'Tis actually the theist's fear of death that will make them irrationaly respond with the belief in a God. For instead of facing the reality of death, they would rather believe in a fanciful little afterlife. Just remember, with the debate of a god, there is not just the Christian God or no God. Any theist has a 0.000000000000000000009% chance of being correct

Disproving God | Reviewer: Socrates | 3/8/08

God can be disproved by the proof that is given towards his existence, it is stated in the bible that God is omnipotent (all powerful). However, if this were to be true, then he would be able to create a boulder so heavy that he himself could not lift it, thus disproving that he is omnipotent. It is paradoxes (something that can be disproved by the definition of itself) like this that disprove any existence of an omnipotent omniscient being..

Yours Truly,
Socrates

Footnote: Muse are a brilliant band and i sincerely think they should be knighted or something equally as prestigious, however i hate the monarchy (lazy cunts) with a passion and therefore am at war with myself to wether or not i would want them to be knighted..how fucked up..

messed | Reviewer: Anonymous | 3/3/08

omg. i think of it this way.... why don't people just say they have nothing to lose? i mean, if you decide to be a christian, i mean you get saved or you die like you were inn the first place. you're stupid if you think it's just an excuse. i've seen things that are impossible for anything of this world to do. just... if you think it's an excuse, then prove it. you still cant' decide what happend with countless of things that have happend at the works of God's hands...

to atheists | Reviewer: Ben | 2/27/08

Atheist is a religion,
so dont try to say shit like, you're atheist because you dont believe in religion, I think alot of people need a lesson when it comes to Christianity, its not about dressing up and going to church, or religion, religion is shit, I'm a Christian, simply because I believe in God, and I know he's there because he's tested me, and saved my ass a few times. This song has a point to it, for those Atheists that don't understand and think that it just communicates the message "Being Atheist is cool." and btw yes I do know Matthew Bellamy is Atheist, but he also doesnt really know what to believe based off of what he has said in interviews.

To Billy | Reviewer: Theist | 2/26/08

I'm the kind of person that doesn't believe in anything that cannot be proven via science. And though people say: 'How can you prove that god doesn't exist?' how can they prove that "He" does? For someone like me, I see religion as a sort of coping mechanism, something made up that allowed people to explain the unexplainable events. So when something came along that was normally impossible to explain; "Why?" it would be easier to say that some form of "higher power" controlled the planet (which was flat at the time) than actually explain how and why it happened.

Please post an example of an impossibly explainable event which was related with god and religion and was in the same time theologically examined.Second of all , truth is that you confessed where you believe.In science , or in other words in human kind.Take in mind though that you have faith in a bunch of atoms not in something true proven and not misjudging.

Also, has no-one noticed that amount of advertisements that have been published encouraging people to believe in god? I even get calls from companies, pushing their religion on people. And I find it even more impossible to believe, because it makes me feel as if it was all just a giant scam!


I don't know where are u from.But judging by globalisation nobody advertises God.What capitalism tries to do is persuade people believe in ego and materialism nothing more nothing else."What are my needs? This this and that.I don't give a fuck for anyone else"

"Q:Can you prove reality?"
"A:No , don't think so."

Didn't think so.

Is it not possible for people to believe what we want? Must we be an uniform society? It confuses me, how about you?

But that is on the side, and none of that should be taken as Muse's view on religion, this only my view, and if you would like to verbally attack me, so be it.

Anyways, I love this song!! Muse FTW!

Dont diss others beleifs | Reviewer: Joanne | 2/26/08

well for all those people out there who dont believe in God i fully respect you...but to several people here who have insulted my God i dont think that is fair. I dont insult your beliefs so what happened to respect? Yes it may just be a piece of mind thing to many but it is my life.
I became a Christian less than a year ago and i have sdeen the most amazing transformations in my outlook on life...
Even if you dont believe in God or heaven or hell id recommend to read the bible because it does have some amazing messages about life in general, respecting people and some awsome adventures to!!!
Anyway what i should be talking about...this song is awsome!!!

wth | Reviewer: hello | 2/25/08

i'm an atheist. (dont belong to a commonly known religion or such stuff)
not that it matters, what religion i am, the song does not tell anything about religion, it only tells of faith (of an individual, not a religious group, or whole religion or all atheists)
maybe it could be understood in other ways, who cares, its art and it should be that way.

so bible, god and such stuff really doesn't fit.

this kind of debates really bore me.
but if i may say anyway- my point of view is that religion is something made up by people in old and middle ages (that is in my opinion the peak of human stupidity).
so it sucks how many troubles and problem it causes.

boredom.
gr8 song, btw.

Thoughts | Reviewer: Billy | 2/24/08

I'm the kind of person that doesn't believe in anything that cannot be proven via science. And though people say: 'How can you prove that god doesn't exist?' how can they prove that "He" does? For someone like me, I see religion as a sort of coping mechanism, something made up that allowed people to explain the unexplainable events. So when something came along that was normally impossible to explain; "Why?" it would be easier to say that some form of "higher power" controlled the planet (which was flat at the time) than actually explain how and why it happened.

Also, has no-one noticed that amount of advertisements that have been published encouraging people to believe in god? I even get calls from companies, pushing their religion on people. And I find it even more impossible to believe, because it makes me feel as if it was all just a giant scam!

Q&A
Q: "Is there anything on the ten commandments about not pushing your religion on people?"
A:"No."

Didn't think so.

Is it not possible for people to believe what we want? Must we be an uniform society? It confuses me, how about you?

But that is on the side, and none of that should be taken as Muse's view on religion, this only my view, and if you would like to verbally attack me, so be it.

Anyways, I love this song!! Muse FTW!

Thoughts | Reviewer: Billy Bob Joel | 2/24/08

I find religion as a kind of coping mechanism to explain inexplicable things. It allowed people in times like the "Medieval Ages" (when the world was flat, mind you) to explain things that could not be explained through conventional thinking. It also gives people a place to go when everything goes wrong. It lets them think that some higher power is doing this to them, and that "he" will eventually give them what they deserve for being faithful. How is it possible to say God doesn't exist? First tell me how it's possible for God to exist, then I'll take my turn explaining how he can't exist. But not only do I want you to explain it to me, I want proof, plausible proof. So use your brain that your parents gave you, and pray to your god that you actually come up with something.

This is my view, and it is not supposed to reflect what Muse may or may not believe.

Anyways, I love this song! Muse FTW!!

In perspective | Reviewer: Luke Woolley | 2/20/08

This song is not only [AMAZING], but it also provokes many controversial thoughts and suggestions.

You cannot attack Muse for what this song suggests, as much as you cannot attack an atheist for what he believes. Muse simply states either what one(or more) member has encountered in past(or present) experience. Therefore yes, you may criticize, analyze, and scrutinize the same as I as a Christian criticize an atheist.

Keep in mind, I do not intend to offend anyone into a spiting hatred towards me or GOD. Unless the offending comment is one which offends them through a criticism which rips a hole in their faith. I do this in argument because I find that a faith which is based on ones brain should never be used as their "faith." For it is our faith which drives us to goals and in perspective, drives our life.

My faith is Christianity. I believe not just that there is a GOD, but that He is, He was, and that He will be. I believe that GOD created this earth some 6 to 8 thousand years ago. Therefore, I do not believe I "evolved" from chance, and random occurrences giving in whole, no purpose or any real reason to live at all. For if believing in evolution, what am I doing in life? Do I live for maybe 80 years and then just die? If so, tell me, what should I accomplish in the next years of my life? Find love? get rich? what is the answer to life!?(actually it's 42, hitchhikers guide to the galaxy, lol.)

Now I understand that this may sound that GOD is just an answer conjured up inside someone’s brain. But is that not the way evolution was developed by Darwin? Speaking of which, according to Elizabeth Reid Cotton, Darwin(an atheist) recanted his suggestions of evolution on his death bed(coincidence?). Now I understand and have read different accusations going against this Elizabeth Reid, but still find it rather intriguing.

However, it is through many not only scientific resolutions, but also emotional ones do I believe whole heartedly in GOD.
Example: the Bible is many different ancient scrolls read by followers of GOD that came together as one book. The oldest one of those which is also the oldest book that has survived through the ages(according to my belief, because of GOD) is Job. Job 38:16 says: "Have you entered the springs of the sea, or have you walked in search of the depths." this was written
thousands of years ago, yet it was not until 1970 did the world believe the ocean stayed filled by rain and rivers. But finally, in 1970 we had technology to travel to the depths and find that indeed the ocean is filled by springs. Tell me, how does evolution explain emotions? it can't.

DO NOT TRY TO SAY THE BIBLE HAS BEEN PROVEN WRONG, BECAUSE NOT ONCE HAS IT EVER BEEN PROVEN TO BE FALSE. that goes for any form, whether literary or scientifically.



And yes, reviews for the song should be or can be personal beliefs. For to me, that is an ultimate form of success in a song.

... | Reviewer: Joe Kinsella | 2/17/08

No Ethan, your not 'the only one who finds this person's entire post to be a really sad case of hypocracy and pure ignorance.'

I thought this line was particually fantastic: 'Either way, athesits are still a very big minority in the world, and from the looks of it, they're going to stay that way for a long time....' Do you think he means in the same way that Christianity is a very big minority?

Anyhow, the song is a fantastic one, and combine it with such obviously emotive imagery and subject matter, and you really do have a talking point...

Outstanding | Reviewer: Alex | 2/15/08

I love this song. The rythm, the lyrics they are all amazing.

Ang geez... you guys discussing over the lyrics from a song...First of all these are supposed to be REVIEWS, not debates about beliefs and such. The song rocks regardless what anyone says, pretty much brings me back to a depression I had due to a past fear of the death. And to the atheists who think that this song depicts you as people afraid from death, chill out, some atheists are afraid to die, some aren't... Mathew bellamy himself stated that he is an atheist (Althought he seems more like an agnostic to me) so learn to have some respect for other views.

please heed this | Reviewer: a servent of my master | 2/13/08

to johnny potsmoker.
"Who says im going to hell just because i dont believe in god, someone from a very long time ago. Something written in the bible, a book which has been disproven numerous times over the years."

this is blaspheme! i sincerely hope from the bottom of my heart that you come to know Jesus as your personal savior. Hebrews 10:31
It is a dreadful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.
please heed this. it is the most serious thing in anyones life. our life time is less than a fraction of the blink of an eye compared to eternity. do not take your life so lightly for soon it will be over...

love, a concerned child of God

no such thing as stupid god | Reviewer: <3muse | 2/13/08

Theres no such thing as GOD, its just some stupid thing PEOPLE have made up. THINK ABOUT IT!! use your common sense. GOD??? wtf Religion is all bullshit end of. I DUNNNO WHAT ON EARTH THAT PERSON WAS THINKING OF WHEN THEY CAME UP WITH THE IDEA OF A GOD DAMN GOD LMAO.
Like most of you who believe in god is just cos your parents do, and you've been brought up in a family that does. Theres no other reason u guys believe in god. Theres no proof of god. Religion is just some stupid thing that people who SERIOUSLY DO NOT HAVE A LIFE believe in.
religion sucks :|

The Thoughts of This Atheist | Reviewer: Fred W. HIll | 2/12/08

What bullshit lyrics.

I'm an atheist, and while I'm not anxious to die and certainly would prefer to die as painlessly as possible, I am not afraid of death at all. I fear god and satan as much as I fear Darth Vader, Sauron, Dr. Doom and the Joker -- not at all. They are all nothing more than figments of human imagination. Heaven and hell are just states of mind, reflections on our living conditions, whether lounging on a beach or trapped in a death camp. We have nothing to fear from any supernatural being but plenty to fear from reality, including other humans who place too much faith in creatures that don't exist.


Add Your New Review About The Song

By Pages:   1    2    3    4    5    6    7    8    9    10   Next 10 Pages Current page No. 10/ 16