Hamilton Leithauser

James Hamilton Leithauser (born April 15, 1978) is an American singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist. He was the lead vocalist of the American indie rock band The Walkmen, with whom he recorded seven studio albums. Prior to The Walkmen's formation, Leithauser and bass guitarist and organist Peter Matthew Bauer were both members of The Recoys. Leithauser was born and raised in Washington, DC and has lived in New York City since the 1990s.

Leithauser embarked upon a solo career in 2014, releasing his debut studio album, Black Hours, on June 3. Written and recorded alongside his Walkmen bandmate Paul Maroon. The duo independently released a follow-up vinly-only LP (Dear God) and EP (I Could Have Sworn) under both of their names the following year.

In 2016, Leithauser collaborated with former Vampire Weekend multi-instrumentalist Rostam Batmanglij on the studio album, I Had a Dream That You Were Mine. It was released to widespread critical acclaim later that year.

The Recoys

The Recoys were an indie rock band from Boston, Massachusetts formed in 1996 by Hamilton Leithauser (vocals, guitar), Peter Bauer (guitar), Damon Hege (guitar), Mike Sheahan (bass) and Hugh McIntosh (drums). The band did release a three-song (now out-of-print) EP of material, The Recoys, while the band was still playing together. The post-breakup LP included the three songs from the EP as well as seven songs meant for a future LP and a tribute song performed by The Lil' Fighters. Three of the songs on The Rekoys, "That's the Punchline," "The Blizzard of '93," and "Look Out Your Window," were rerecorded by The Walkmen for various albums and EPs. Following The Recoys' breakup, Leithauser and Bauer formed The Walkmen, while Hugh McIntosh joined The French Kicks and the Child Ballads as the bands' drummer.

Following the hiatus of The Walkmen in late 2013, Leithauser began a solo career. His debut full-length, Black Hours, was released June 3, 2014.

The Walkmen

Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam

In 2016, he formed Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam with Rostam Batmanglij, formerly of Vampire Weekend. They released the single "A 1000 Times" in July 2016, which they performed on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert on September 12, 2016. Their song "In a Blackout" was featured in the commercial for the Apple iPhone 7 and series Lucifer, in the episode "God Johnson" (2nd Season, 16th Episode). Their debut album, I Had a Dream That You Were Mine, was released on September 23, 2016.

Solo discography


  • Black Hours (2014)
  • Dear God (2015) (with Paul Maroon)
  • I Had a Dream That You Were Mine (2016) (with Rostam)
  • The Loves of Your Life (2020)


  • I Could Have Sworn (2015) (with Paul Maroon)

    Live albums

  • I Won't Let Up: Live At Music Hall Of Williamsburg (2017) (with Rostam)


  • Room For Forgiveness (2014, Ribbon Music)
  • Alexandra (2014, Ribbon Music)
  • I Don't Need Anyone (2014, Ribbon Music)
  • Hamilton Leithauser + Paul Maroon - My Reward (Leithauser & Leithauser, LLC, 2016)
  • Hamilton Leithauser + Rostam - A 1000 Times (2016, Glassnote)
  • Hamilton Leithauser Featuring Angel Olsen - Heartstruck (Wild Hunger) [2016, Glassnote]

    Music videos

  • Alexandra (2014)
  • I Don't Need Anyone (2014)
  • 11 O'Clock Friday Night (2014)
  • Heartstruck (2016)
  • A 1000 Times (2016)

    Personal life

    Leithauser is married with two children.