Oceano (band)

Oceano is an American deathcore band from Cook County, Illinois. Formed in 2006, the band signed to Earache Records and released their debut album, Depths on April 7, 2009. Their second album, Contagion was released on November 9, 2010. Their fourth album Ascendants was released March 23, 2015. Their most recent album Revelation was released on May 19, 2017. It was their first release with their new label, Sumerian Records.

Following the departure of guitarist Jeremy Carroll in 2009, the band no longer had any of its original members. Vocalist Adam Warren is the longest tenured member of the band, having been with Oceano since joining in 2007.


Upon its formation in 2006, Oceano was originally a four piece band formed by guitarist Jeremy Carroll, which consisted of Carroll on guitar, Jeff Erickson on bass, Nico LaCorcia on drums and Eddie Harris on vocals. Oceano went through a revolving cast of players until settling on a new lineup and a new sound in 2007. That lineup, consisting of Andrew Mikhail (guitar), Michael Southcomb (drums), Adam Warren (vocals), and Kevin Hare (bass), would go on to develop the sound they'd take to the world in their first recordings.

Oceano recorded their full debut album Depths in late 2008, releasing it worldwide on April 20, 2009.

Jeremy Carrol was fired from the band in January 2009 due to personality conflicts between members. Carrol's leaving left no original members from the original Oceano lineup in the band. On February 3, 2010 the band's lead guitarist, Andrew Mikhail also departed from the band.

Oceano was a part of the 2011 Summer Slaughter Tour in North America alongside co-headliners Whitechapel and The Black Dahlia Murder.

In January 2012, a rumor spread that the band was disestablishing, which was confirmed as false by Earache. Instead, an announcement was made that the band actually was going on a short hiatus after their performance at the New England Metal and Hardcore Festival due to vocalist, Adam Warren, becoming a father. After some time spent away from the band, however, Oceano decided not to disband, and to continue touring. They are currently a part of the roster for the US summer Scream It Like You Mean it tour and also revealed that they had begun writing their next album, Incisions, due in 2013. The first lyric video from the album, "Slow Murder", was released on January 28, 2013. On January 12, 2015 the band released a new song titled "Dead Planet" from their fourth album "Ascendants" which was released on March 23 from Earache Records. On February 17, 2017 the band announced via Facebook that they had signed over to Sumerian Records.

Musical style and lyrics

Oceano is a deathcore band, a mixture of the genres metalcore, hardcore punk and death metal. They also (particularly in their earliest material) had a slight influence from grindcore. Blast beats, sonic double bass, slow bottom heavy breakdowns and low death metal growls and occasionally the shrieked vocals typical in metalcore are present. The lyrics range from anti-religion to misanthropy. The band has been inspired by acts like Dying Fetus, Cannibal Corpse, Decapitated, Behemoth, The Acacia Strain, Deicide, Hatebreed, Suicide Silence, Meshuggah and Slayer.


Current members
  • Adam Warren (Trav And Adam, ex-Demolisher) – vocals (2007–present)
  • Scott Smith – guitars (2014–present)
  • Chris Wagner – bass (2014–present)
  • Matt Kohanowski – drums (2017–present)Former members
  • Eddie "Doom" Harris - vocals (2006–2007)
  • Jeff Erickson – bass (2006–2007)
  • Derek Hildreth - drums (2006-2007)
  • Nico LaCorcia - drums (2007)
  • Kevin Hare – bass (2007–2008)
  • Michael Southcomb – drums (2007–2008)
  • Jeremy Carroll – lead guitar (now in Rooks, Ambassador) (2006–2009)
  • Tristan McCann – lead guitar (ex-Abigail Williams) (2009)
  • Andrew Mikhail – rhythm guitar (now in Serpents, ex-Legend, ex-Defiler, ex-Thick As Blood, ex-Straight Line Stitch) (2007–2010)
  • Devin Shidaker – lead guitar (2010–2013) (ex-Rose Funeral, now in The Acacia Strain)
  • Daniel Terchin – drums (ex-Volumes, ex-Jerome) (2008–2013)
  • Nick Conser – rhythm guitar (2010–2014)
  • Jason Jones – bass (2008–2014)
  • Chason Westmoreland - drums (2014-2015) (Burning the Masses, ex-The Faceless, ex-Abigail Williams, ex-Hate Eternal)
  • Mike Shanahan - third guitar (2014-2015) ex-Born Of Osiris
  • Michael Kasper – lead guitar (2013–2016)
  • Andrew Holzbaur – drums (2015-2017)(ex-The Devastated, now in MyChildren MyBride)Timeline


  • Demo 2006
  • Demo 2007
  • Demo 2008